24 Jul 2015

Monotony / Monotony (EP review)


Monotony are the absolute archetype of what punk rock should be in 2015; brash, uncompromising, and, well, monotonous. The band's music is so simple, but really, really effective with it's mighty bleak dullset tones and it's punk-rock attitudes.

To me, the Monotony 12' is one of the best releases of the past few years I'd describe as being in the straight up 'punk' genre. Whilst I think the most of the music made in that genre in 2015 is very much a sloppy pastiche of everything that's come before it, I feel that like Eagulls and Savages, Monotony manage to transcend that, so their sound feels a lot more fresh. Like, you've got your thudding, thumping bassline present in almost every track, and the disaffected, impassioned vocals, BUT you've also got gritty, woozy guitar solos like on Back To The Castle, and tracks like Wrong have a brilliant, strutting, frantic feel that just make them feel really exciting.

The band are just so incredibly tight all the way through, which again, like Eagulls and Savages, is why they're just a joy to listen to. There's a lot of great, powerful musicianship in this band, and everything just... fits. The frontman's Lydon-post-Pistols monotonous vocals create the perfect atmosphere of bleakness and hopelessness, whilst the guitar is just so cagey, like a more ravenous version of Sumner's scratchy dystopic Unknown Pleasures guitar lines, and the rumbling basslines, well, they're just something really special, hypnotic, and actually kind of like, danceable.

Monotony, who are essentially the side project of Sauna Youth (a similarly AMAZING band), are the absolute real deal. I really like them, and even though the majority of 'punk rock' I hear today is about as challenging and political as a cup of tea with too much milk in, this is a bleak every-thing-is-going-wrong record that's enjoyable, fun, and absolutely essential to anyone that's into the likes of Eagulls, Holograms and Iceage.


you can pre-order the monotony ep by monotony here. it comes on a 12' piece of vinyl that has the same 6 tracks pressed on each side...

(written by calum cashin)