8 Mar 2017

International Women's Day: A New Music Playlist

Today (March 8th) is International Women's Day. To celebrate, here's a selection of new music from female musicians to soundtrack your celebrations.

Dream Wife - Somebody
Since bursting onto the indie scene in 2016, London trio Dream Wife have gone from strength to strength with their vicious take on garage rock. Somebody, out today, is no different, packing a thunderous bass line and lyrics that don't beat around the bush - "I am not my body / I am somebody", vocalist Rakel Mjöll announces defiantly.

Charli XCX - Number 1 Angel
Joining Mistajam on Radio 1 last night, pop-maverick-come-riot-grrrl Charli XCX introduced three tracks from her new mixtape, titled Number 1 Angel, out this Friday for free! Teaming up with the likes of newcomer RAYE, chart icon MØ, and American hip-hoppers CupcakKe and Starrah, the new material is sonically worlds away from 2015's Sucker, but keeps that girl power attitude firmly at its core. Check it out here.
Marika Hackman - Boyfriend
On the lead single from her forthcoming LP I'm Not Your Man, Marika Hackman recruits The Big Moon as her backing band for a punchy and tongue-in-cheek pop number, with visuals to match.

Girli - Not That Girl
Making a name for herself as one to watch on the London pop scene, Not That Girl sees Girli adapt a more streamlined, dancehall inspired sound, but lose none of the potent activism she delivered by the bucket load on last year's Girls Get Angry Too. It precedes a new EP titled Feel OK out April 21st, and a 14+ headline show at London's Electrowerkz on April 11th.

Laura Marling - Nothing, Not Nearly
The dusky melodies of Laura Marling's sixth studio album Semper Femina don't come across stronger than on this, the latest preview track. Marling's vocal is flawless, with a distinct urgency echoed in the compelling guitar melodies. Semper Femina is out this Friday.

Visit www.internationalwomensday.com for more information about the purpose of the movement, and ways to get involved.

(Words: Alex Cabré)